How the diocese works

The Diocese of Bath and Wells is a network of individuals, parishes and schools in and around the historic county of Somerset in South West England. We are one of the 41 dioceses of the Church of England. We have two bishops of our own – the Bishop of Bath and Wells and the Bishop of Taunton. The Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby, is our Archbishop.

Bath and Wells and the National Church

At national level the Diocese of Bath and Wells is represented at General Synod, the Church of England’s parliament, by the Bishop of Bath and Wells, five elected members of the House of Laity and four elected members of the House of Clergy.

Diocesan decision-making bodies

Leadership and decision-making at diocesan level rests with five bodies:

  • the bishops and Diocesan Synod
  • Bishop’s Council
  • Board of Finance
  • Mission and Pastoral Committee
  • Board of Education

Download the diocesan calendar of meetings (below) to find out when these bodies meet or find details of key meetings on our events calendar. Our Complaints Policy is available to download below, as is the Constitution and Standing Orders document for Diocesan Synod.

Decisions made by these bodies are implemented, managed and administered by a range of diocesan Support Services teams.

Deanery Synod

At the local level, parishes (which are organised into deaneries) are part of their Deanery Synod. Deanery Synod is a forum for parishes to exchange views on issues affecting the deanery, the diocese and the wider Church and to feed back to Diocesan Synod.

Recent legal guidance

Visit our legal guidance page.

Who to contact

Peter Evans, Assistant Diocesan Secretary


Complaints Policy

2023 Diocesan Calendar of Meetings

2024 Diocesan Calendar of Meetings

2025 Diocesan Calendar of Meetings

Powered by Church Edit